2005-02-20

2 Weeks with Shaithis

Hello, Hello! What do ya know? I AM still alive.

I have been through some major changes in the past week that were not expected. My dearest Shaithis came to visit and meet my parents. So, naturally, I took a few days off of work, and the whole family took off to my brother's house at the beach.

We had a wonderful time looking for sea shells(we found about 7 sand dollars and 3 conch shells.) We went out to dinner for my brother's 30th birthday and then went dancing at this little place near the restaurant. We had a blast.

All was going so great until my brother talked me into taking an additional day off of work. I agreed and made the call on monday morning to my office to let them know I wouldn't be in. Well, about an hour later, I got a call from the staffing agency that put me in the job, saying that they talked with my supervisor and they couldn't afford to keep me on for my last week. They had already hired my replacement and that they couldn't afford to pay us both.

Hey, good thing I didn't make the 6 hour drive back to Atlanta on Sunday after all.

Honestly, I was a little shocked at first, but I am fine with it and everything worked out in the end anyway. So, we ended up staying at the beach for another couple of days and had a really great time.

Not having to worry about making it back to work, we made a stop at my parents house again and stayed another couple of nights there. On Wednesday, Shaithis and I accompanied my little brother to a quizbowl tournament with my mother. Very impressive!! His team made it all the way to the final four and then won the tournament. I am so proud of my little brother, he is so smart.

So, no job, no money, but, I did have the best passenger for my drive to Ohio. Shaithis cancelled his flight and rode with me. How sweet is that? Once we made it back to Atlanta, Shaithis helped me pack my things and on Friday morning we made the 10 hour drive. It was the best road trip I have ever made. We talked the entire trip, without getting on each other's nerves. He didn't even complain when we pretty much had to stop every hour and half, for a potty break.

All in all, I believe my family really enjoyed meeting him and really like him. Things are going well. Tomorrow, I will have several things to take care of to get settled, but for the most part, things are going very smoothly.

Love until later,
d

lolamae at 3:21 p.m.

previous | next