2005-06-14

Probationary period

Hello there.

Work, not going so well. My parents finally let me know when they are visiting. When I went to let my boss know the "2" days I needed off, she freaked. She said I was still in my probationary period and that If she needed me to work, then I have to work.

Come on, in all of the six years, I have lived away from my family, I have never had an employer tell me that I can't have 2 days off to visit with my family.

Probationary period my ass. It's not like I asked for paid time off. I know I don't get that. I asked for a Friday and a Monday with "no" pay. The silliest part is that she doesn't even have the schedule made yet and I gave her a month's notice. She is still throwing a fit about it.

I turned in the exact dates today. I am going to give her the benefit of the doubt. If I am scheduled for those two days after the advanced notice, the next notice I hand in will be my "two weeks" notice.

I know that sounds a bit harsh, but seriously, I don't want to work for someone who doesn't appreciate family.
If she can't give me two days to spend with my parents, what about when I need time off to spend with my sick child. What then?

The "probationary period" thing is just an exuse. In my opinion anyway. I have gotten negative feedback since the day I started working there. I kinda get the feeling she wants me to quit.

All I have to say......She knew my experience when I started and anyone who has worked with me the past month knows that I have busted butt to learn this job. If she can't cut me a little slack, she will suffer by having to train someone else.

I better get going. I have bible study.

lolamae at 6:02 p.m.

previous | next